Saturn the Beautiful

First things first, I love that my fellow French My Toast contributors allow me a whole day to write about my dearly beloved Space.  They probably allow it to avoid receiving a million gchats, texts messages and the occasional house cornering but none the less I give credit where credit is due and they have been good sports about my ramblings.  Occasionally, I’m asked if I’ve seen anything with my telescope which results in me unleashing on the poor sap a long and complicated list of things they’ve probably never even heard of.  Once I begin to see their eyes glaze over, I know I’ve lost them and my last ditch effort is to ring(pun intended) them back with the one object that left me speechless the first time I saw it, the magnificent Saturn.  What can I really say about Saturn that won’t leave me sounding like an in love school girl who doodles Saturn’s name a million times on my trapper keeper?  Probably nothing.  For the stake of my dignity and your sanity, I’ll let the old adage”a picture is worth a thousand words” do the talking for me.  So without further ado, here is my favorite image of the planet delivered to us from the Cassini-Huygens spacecraft.  If you like what you see, visit http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/photos/ .

 

And because can’t I let you guys off that easy, here is a little bit about Cassini-Huygens:

NASA launched in 1997 the Cassini-Huygens spacecraft to study Saturn and its many, many natural satellites.  The images it has been beaming back to us since in arrived in 2004(Space is a tad on the huge side) have been nothing short of stunning and revolutionary to our concept of Saturn and the Gas Giants.  It was granted two extensions one in 2008 and the other in 2010 and will continue its study of the planet until 2017 when it will take a control fall into Saturn’s atmosphere.

Bellini

Leave a Reply

